The maiden edition of the National Gospel Music Awards came off in Kumasi on Sunday, December 17, 2017.

The Award event seeks to to honour and appreciate gospel musicians who have released work(s) that have generated the most public excitement within the calendar year of the scheme.

Female gospel artiste, Obaapa Christy was adjudged the Best Gospel Artiste of the Year. She beat off competition from the likes of OJ, Joe Mettle, Akesse Brimpong, Gifty Osei, Diana Antwi Hamilton and Brother Sammy.

In all, there were 30 categories of awards organized by Royal Akofena Entertainment in collaboration with The Multimedia Group Limited, Kumasi.

See List Below.

Best Gospel Artiste of the Year – Obaapa Christy

Best Male Worship song of the Year – Joe Mettle

Best African Gospel song of the Year – Sonnie Badu

Best Gospel Group of the year – Willie and Mike

Best Contemporary Gospel Album – Jack Alolome

Best Collaboration – Jack Alolome and Princess Ifeoma

New Artiste of the Year – Patience Nyarko

Best Praise Song of the Year – Monko Moakyi by Joyce Blessing

Best Traditional Song of the year – Change Over by Mary Agyemang

Discovery of the Year – Mabel Okyere

Best Worship Video – Brother Sammy (Sakra Wiem)

Best Worship Song – Sammy Baah

Best Acapella – Alabaster Box

Best Male Vocalist – Ernest Opoku

Best Gospel Hip Hop Song of the Year – FAFFA

Lifetime Achievement Award – Prof. Kofi Abraham